AANS Neurosurgeon : AANS Annual Meeting

Volume 20, Number 1, 2011

New Frontiers

AANS Annual Meeting Pushes Neurosurgery's Boundaries

Bookmark and Share


Intrepid Denver, the gateway to Colorado’s breathtaking Rocky Mountains, is a fitting site for the 79th AANS Annual Scientific Meeting, “Discovering Neurosurgery: New Frontiers.”

“From April 9–13 in Denver, we’ll explore the new frontiers we have attained in neurosurgery,” said AANS President James T. Rutka, MD. “High fidelity neurosurgical simulation for teaching residents, neurosurgical art and illustrations recapitulating the complex and sophisticated procedures we perform on a daily basis, and the exciting future of neurosurgical publications and education are all part of the discovery themes we will experience together.”

Working with Dr. Rutka and Annual Meeting Committee Chair Matthew A. Howard III, MD, AANS members have been planning all year to present a stellar and entertaining educational event. They include Scientific Program Chair Carl B. Heilman, MD, Scientific Poster Chair Anil Nanda, MD, Local Hosts Kevin O. Lillehei, MD, and Anne Lillehei, P. David Adelson, MD, Nicholas M. Barbaro, MD, Dean Barone, PA-C, Robert E. Harbaugh, MD, Twyila Lay, NP, Christopher M. Loftus, MD, Cormac O. Maher, MD, Paul C. McCormick, MD, Michael Y. Oh, MD, Lawrence M. Shuer, MD, Vincent C. Traynelis, MD, and Edie E. Zusman, MD.

The meeting features 20 scientific sessions, 66 breakfast seminars, 175 oral abstract presentations, and more than 500 electronic posters, offering up to 42.75 AMA PRA Category 1 credits.

Guest speakers are Cushing Orator Nathaniel Philbrick, champion sailor, award-winning scholar and bestselling author; Robert DiRaddo, PhD; Richard Gilbertson, MD; Kristen Iversen; Doug Kondziolka, MD; Lars Olson, PhD; Jon H. Robertson, MD; Raymond Sawaya, MD; Robert Spetzler, MD; and Ian Suk, BScBMC.

Honorees include A. John Popp, MD, Cushing Medal; Barth A. Green, MD, Humanitarian Award; Thomas A. Marshall, AANS executive director, Distinguished Service Award; and Shigeaki Kobayashi, MD, AANS International Lifetime Recognition Award.

Famed Japanese neurosurgeon Kenichiro Sugita, who pioneered numerous neurosurgical approaches and procedures during his lifetime, will be honored through the AANS-Sugita International Symposium dedicated to his memory. Neurosurgical dignitaries from around the world will be speaking at this educational event.

SyncIt! BringIt! UseIt!
For the second year, meeting content will be delivered digitally via each attendee’s iPod touch. Before the meeting, the 2011 AANS Annual Scientific Meeting application should be downloaded from iTunes.

At the meeting, each attendee’s iPod touch will keep scientific programming, exhibitor information, maps and more at their fingertips. Like last year, the application will offer real-time program and news updates as well as messaging among attendees. New functions this year include note taking with the ability to e-mail the notes, and a personal scheduling feature that can be used to keep track of everything, from sessions and events to committee meetings and dinner reservations.

The same iPod touch used at the meeting also can be used to access AANS on iTunes U. Some of the educational content provided by the AANS through iTunes U includes lectures from some of the leading experts in neurosurgery; demonstrations of procedures or surgical techniques; and discussions of the latest clinical breakthroughs. The free service allows on-demand access to the very latest educational information.

For more information, visit the AANS website.